Cambrigde experience

Cambridge Punting on river Cam. PH: Beto Vega

These two months have been an incredible time to change our point of view about the ideas and feelings regarding our careers in film and Tv, and our lifestyle in Colombia. Certainly, this is because this trip has provided a bigger picture to compare, and cause we have been in touch with one of the most influential culture of our time. In my case, I’m really keen in animation films, and I have found many resources, materials and references here, which have encourage me to keep working in this field. There were many opportunities to work and learn during this months, such as the film practice with Neil’s course, where we were filming a stop motion animation in 16 mm film. This experience was a challenge, but we really enjoyed every part of the work, because we were enchanted with the old style camera, and we love to get involved in this kind of projects. Furthermore, we could borrow some equipments and one studio to accomplish our tasks, so it was pleasant to have all this support for our work. 

On the other hand, some classes such as the history of British films with Dr. Annie were an important moment to learn about long filmmaking tradition in U.K. as well to share our points of view about the art of cinematography. Even so Dr. Annie devoted a class to review animation milestones, where I was very delighted looking the main works of English animators such as Nick Park, John Halas and Joy Batchelor,
among others subjects. 

In the same way, we had other important opportunities to develop our ideas during the Naz’s classes, where we practiced our speaking skills and we made some exercises about speech and pronunciation topics. This exercises gave us a better output when we made pitch presentation in classroom. One of the most memorable experiences with Naz´s classes was the performance «the embodiment of soul» at Robinson College Chapel. The choreography was touch, we really enjoyed the whole presentation and the place as well. Back into the class Naz asked us to talk about the performance in order to practice our speech skills.

Embodiment of soul
Still image from «the Embodiment of soul» dance performance; directed by Naz.

Other aspect that woke my interest about our trip was the connection between the historical figure of John Ruskin and the present influence of his thoughts in much points of English arts. As a graphic designer I’m interested in the work of William Morris and the groups of artist of the Arts and Crafts movement, and it is well known the strong influence of Ruskin over most of the artist like Morris. It’s probably just a detail, but it means something special for me, when I was realized that I’m studying in the University founded by this prominent social thinker!

ceiling Eely Cathedral
I love the splendid details of some building like Eely´s Cathedral.

I feel really grateful about the efforts made for A. R. U. organizers, especially about the trips to some cities like Norwich, Bredfor, Manchester and London. It was a unique opportunity to take contact with the film industry, as well to take a look to film production and history.  For instance, I keep in my mind Ken Loach movie «Sorry we missed you» , because it was a deep story about other faces of the british life, with a different approach to some issues that people of nowadays are facing up.

We took a trip to the north, from Cambridge to Edinburgh!

Edinburg 2

Finally I would like to refers about my interest on PH. D. Studies in A. R. U. because i discovered an especial attach since I had this trip. There are some areas that makes me feel encourage to keep studying such as animation and Illustration; so I´m thinking seriously about the way to come back and go beyond. Meanwhile I send this message of gratefulness to all the team that provided us with this amazing experience, and  I hope for the day when I can see them again.

Deja un comentario